Lessons with animated videos: TED-Ed (part 3)

[You can read part 1 of this series on TED-Ed here, and part 2 here.]

After learning so many great things about TED-Ed, I believe it is important to understand the usage policy of these TED-Ed lessons.

TED Talks Usage Policy

TED Talks are under a Creative Commons License. This means we can share TED Talks on blogs (if sharing TED Talks is not the main purpose of the blog) with a visible link back to TED.com. We are also encouraged to stream TED Talks in classrooms for discussions and share links to TED.com on class platforms.

TED-Ed Usage Policy

TED-Ed animations (videos) are made available through YouTube. This means TED-Ed videos are under YouTube’s standard usage policy. I was not able to find where it is clearly stated that educators can or cannot stream YouTube videos for educational purposes. So I asked my Twitter friends for help. I got zero responses. :(

Confusing2.jpg
Image by verygooddesign/fotolia

The Open Educational Resources (OER) Movement and TED-Ed as an OER

Christer Gundersen put OER projects that have influenced the OER Movement in an interactive timeline. The concept of OER is new to me, but since I support Kelsie’s belief that “education should be open and available to everyone,” I strongly believe that OER is a great way to make education more accessible to more people. I believe we are still too far from equity in education, but OERs are a great step towards this. I believe I’ve tried to complete some courses offered through OER in the past, but nothing too extraordinary comes to my mind. However, this week I came to know about two courses offered by two important Canadian Universities through Coursera: Indigenous Canada, by the University of Alberta, and Aboriginal Worldviews and Education, by the University of Toronto; I am planning to audit at least one of them (both start this month).

TED-Ed makes a great contribution to education by offering high-quality animation videos on a wide variety of topics. The videos are short and easy to understand.

I have been an educator for more than 20 years now, and I have never used someone else’s lesson in full with my students since I strongly believe we need to develop lessons to meet OUR students’ needs. Thus, I am not sure if someone will use a full TED-Ed Lesson in a classroom without any modification, but they are available mostly as suggestions to educators and, maybe, as complete lessons for self-taught students willing to expand their knowledge.

This 3-part series on TED-Ed took me more than 12 hours of research and writing, but I’ve learned useful information beyond the TED-Ed Lessons. Since my #eci831 classmates are going to analyze other OERs, watch our blog hub for the upcoming blog posts.

Additional information:

Now, it is your turn. Let me know how you liked this 3-part series on TED-Ed. :)

3 thoughts on “Lessons with animated videos: TED-Ed (part 3)

  1. Wow! I am impressed with your work here. I use Ted Talks for my own self-directed learning but see, from your impressive research here that Ted-Ed would be an excellent resource for use in class. I enjoy how you share your teaching strategies. I will be definitely be using this resource in the future! Thank you for taking the time to share this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I want to thank you for your work. Prior to hearing you speak in class and reading your posts I was not aware of what a powerful resource Ted Ed is. I’m currently working on building content for classes I am teaching next winter! Thanks so much.

    Like

Thank you for your comment! :)

