Lessons with animated videos: TED-Ed (part 1)

This post is the first of a series on TED-Ed: an open learning resource:

PART 1 – TED, TEDx, and TED-Ed

PART 2 – Inside and out of a TED-Ed lesson

PART 2 – TED-Ed as an open resource for teaching

We use lots of TED Talks in our program to discuss academic success strategies with our adult students academically at risk. However, I rarely search for videos on the TED-Ed website; I remember using two TED-Ed videos only by now. I usually search for TED Talks by topic. So, I decided to take a better look at TED-Ed.

But before…

What is TED and how it started?

TED vs. TEDx:

Some facts and great things about TED conferences:

Now, TED-Ed:

Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 10.01.39 AM.png
Image by Ted.com

TED-Ed’s main page

It is colourful and beautiful. It is pretty simple to understand how to access the lessons there, by using the filter or by checking the series. And if you know TED, you know that TED-Ed follows the same high quality of its videos.

The “About” page tells us a little bit more about TED-Ed:

TED-Ed has a blog too:

The TED-Ed Blog discusses ideas and other projects for educators and for students, such as peer coaching, online groups for professional development, and tips to identify fake news. There are some interesting things on the TED-Ed blog; the TED-Ed’s first 360º animated video is a must see!

Great! We have learned the differences among TED, TEDx, and TED-Ed. Tomorrow, I am going to evaluate one TED-Ed lesson and let you know my opinion about each part of it.

 

5 thoughts on “Lessons with animated videos: TED-Ed (part 1)

  1. I reviewed TED ED too but I was so excited to read your post as I learned many things about the TED operation as a whole. I checked out your review of the lesson too – super thorough. I posted a link to a, “Counting on your Fingers” lesson in my post. I think TED ED is a very valuable resource and has a wide variety of quality lessons. Thanks for the awesome post.

    Like

Thank you for your comment! :)

