The beauty of open education

This video made me remember a conversation I had with my husband about encyclopedias, two nights ago. In the 80s, encyclopedias were sold door to door in Brazil as well as in other parts of the world. Textbooks and encyclopedias were the main sources of knowledge available at the time. Encyclopedias were outdated mainly because families would rarely buy a new collection if they owned a full set. There were no encyclopedias in my house. So, I had to go to the school library to borrow an encyclopedia for my research papers. I never took them home though since they were super heavy, and I usually needed less than 1/4 of a page for my homework. As with many companies, Britannica also had to adapt to new technologies and no longer sells encyclopedias door to door.

Last weekend, Continue reading “The beauty of open education”

